Astrocyte Pharmaceuticals Announces Expanded Clinical Advisory Board

Groton, CT, December 1, 2020 – Astrocyte Pharmaceuticals Inc., a privately held pharmaceutical company advancing neuroprotective treatments, announced the establishment of its Clinical Advisory Board (CAB) with leading stroke and traumatic brain injury (TBI) clinical experts.   The Board will be Chaired by current advisor Dr. Jeffrey L. Saver, and include ongoing advisor Dr. David W. Wright, and new advisors Dr. Greg Albers, Dr. Raul Nogeuira, and Dr. Kevin Sheth.

Dr. Jeff Saver, Chair of Astrocyte CAB

“The preclinical data on AST-004 is highly compelling with significant efficacy in a broad set of preclinical models,” said Dr. Saver.  “We look forward to guiding Astrocyte on how best to quickly, efficiently, and safely advance this promising therapeutic into clinical studies.”

Astrocyte CEO William Korinek stated, “We are extremely honored and proud to have such a prestigious group of clinicians involved with Astrocyte and the AST-004 program.”   Collectively, the CAB has over 130 years of clinical research expertise from over 300 clinical studies and over 1,700 publications.  “With the collective experience of our CAB, we’re confident that AST-004 will have the best opportunity to demonstrate its efficacy in the clinic.”

Astrocyte’s CAB will partner with continuing Scientific Advisors Dr. James Lechleiter and Dr. Dallas Hack, Astrocyte’s management team, and its Board of Directors to determine the optimal clinical development strategy for the Company’s portfolio.

Astrocyte’s Clinical Advisory Board:

Jeffrey L. Saver, M.D.  Dr. Saver has been the Director of the UCLA Stroke Unit since its inception in 1995, and he is Professor and SA Vice-Chair of Neurology at the David Geffen School of Medicine at UCLA. Dr. Saver has been the global or site principal investigator for more than 50 clinical research studies including the groundbreaking studies FAST-MAG, SWIFT-PRIME, and DAWN. He also Co-Chairs the Acute Stroke Trial Working Group for the NIH-NINDS StrokeNet National Stroke Trials Network.  Dr. Saver also served as Chair of the American Heart Association Stroke Council. He currently is Associate Editor at JAMA, the Journal of the American Medical Association, and Editorial Board Member at the journal Circulation.

David W. Wright, M.D.  Dr. Wright is the Chair and Professor of emergency medicine, and Director of Emergency Neurosciences, at Emory University’s School of Medicine.  He is dedicated to finding novel therapies for the treatment of rapidly evolving neurological conditions, including traumatic brain injury and stroke. Dr. Wright is a board-certified emergency medicine physician practicing at Emory affiliated hospitals and Grady Memorial Hospital, Atlanta’s primary Level 1 Trauma Center. He was the Principal Investigator for the large multicenter clinical trial ProTECT III (Progesterone for Traumatic Brain Injury), and has been one of the top 3 NIH funded emergency medicine researchers in the United States.  Dr. Wright is an esteemed Howard Hughes Fellow, a member of the prestigious Alpha Omega Alpha medical honors society, and was the recipient of the Society for Academic Emergency Medicine Young Investigator Award.

Gregory W. Albers, M.D.  Dr. Albers is the Director of the Stanford Stroke Center, a position he has held since co-founding the center in 1992. Dr. Albers’ primary research focus is the diagnosis, management, and prevention of ischemic stroke. He has been the principal investigator of all 3 DEFUSE studies, which were NIH-funded research projects that clarified the evolution of brain ischemia and led to extending the treatment window for stroke to 24 hours in 2018.  Dr. Albers is the Chairman of the Stroke Treatment Academic Industry Roundtable (STAIR).  In 2011, Dr. Albers received the American Heart Association’s prestigious David G. Sherman Award for Outstanding Contributions to Stroke Research.

Raul G. Nogueira, M.D.   Dr. Nogueira is a Professor of Neurology, Neurosurgery, and Radiology at the Emory University School of Medicine and the Director of the Neuroendovascular Service at Grady Memorial Hospital (GMH). He is the Immediate Past President of the Society of Vascular and Interventional Neurology (SVIN) and the former Editor-In-Chief of the Interventional Neurology journal. He has had a leadership role in many stroke thrombectomy studies including Principal Investigator in the TREVO-2 Trial, Penumbra 3D Separator Trial, DAWN Trial, BEST Trial, RESILIENT Trial, ENDOLOW Trial, PROST Trial, and EXCELLENT Registry as well as Steering Committee of the SWIFT Trial, SWIFT Prime Trial, ARISE-II Trial, and Trevo Registry.

Kevin Sheth, M.D.  Dr. Sheth is the founding Chief of the Division of Neurocritical Care & Emergency Neurology at the Yale School of Medicine. He is a nationally recognized clinical and translational scientist, is currently the principal investigator for two NIH neuroscience networks, NeuroNEXT and StrokeNet, and has served as Principal Investigator (PI) or co-PI for 8 multicenter clinical trials in stroke.  Dr. Sheth is the winner of the prestigious Robert Siekert Award from the American Heart Association (AHA), the Derek Denny Brown Award from the American Neurological Association and an elected member of the American Society for Clinical Investigation (ASCI). Dr. Sheth is the author of over 250 publications and is an Associate Editor at Neurology and on the editorial boards for Stroke and Neurosurgery.

For more information about Astrocyte Pharmaceuticals please contact Dr. William Korinek at 617-444-8765 or [email protected].


About Astrocyte Pharmaceuticals Inc.

Astrocyte Pharmaceuticals Inc. is a drug development company dedicated to accelerating the recovery and well-being of brain injury patients. Astrocyte is committed to proving the neuroprotective benefits of enhanced mitochondrial energy production in astrocytes, and advancing breakthrough therapeutic agents for treating brain injury resulting from stroke, TBI, concussion, and neurodegenerative disorders such as Alzheimer’s disease.

By using this website, you agree to our use of cookies. We use cookies to improve your browsing experience. To learn more about the cookies we use, see our Privacy Policy.